Monday, 17 September 2007

Wageningen-ingeningeniingeg

WOW. Over 2 weeks and no blog stuffs. I bet you are all sooo worried about me.

Well, happy to say Im still alive, and even happier to say im not in Prague. As nice as it was of J to put me up for so long, and as nice as the people he lives with are, I was keen to get going after not too long. I felt like I had lost my momentum. Prague is cool, but when everyone around you is stressed, the rain is falling, and you're feeling lonely, then its time to get moving again.

Arrived early morning in Amsterdam to be met by Guido, a guy i met from slsk. Hes a really nice guy and very good conversation. He kept me company for the hour or so (felt like ages) until Lucy's train finally arrived. Man, Id been waiting for this moment for like 2 weeks!!!!!!

SOOOOOOOOO good to see her again, cant begin to describe it. The last weeks had dragged and dragged an no amount of talking on MSN or sending each other emo-mails could make it any easier. Ive missed her so much, but finally the waiting is over =D

So, we went into amsterdam, with Guido as our expert guide we perused the many sex boutiques and viewed the many women residing in shop windows by the canals. Amsterdam is fkn funny some things here you couldnt even imagine.

Its a dirty city, dust n grime everywhere. everyone cycles too. We didnt get to see so much of the place because we where eager to get some rest. I had been awake for about 30 something hours by this point. So we said our goodbyes to Guido and away we went.

We got a train to a place called wageningen, and then a bus to a small town called Renkum. Not even a town... a village at best, tiny and dull. We met up with another guy from slsk called lennert (soz for spelling) who was awesome enough to prsuade his mum to house us for a couple nights. We hung out, listened to some music and played with Laptops etc. We also got a tour of the village, this took about 5 minutes. Aparently the most famous thing to have happened here was some grave robbery. couldnt find a postcard unfortunately.

Next we went back to Wageningen to meet a guy called Sander (ribtickler) who is part of the crew organising the gig I played here. Hes found us a really nice place to stay, its a room in a bungalow which is part of a type of hippy/student type comune. You know the type, campfires, "art" LOADS of animals and the world famous dangerous kitchen. None the less everyone here is cool and its a nice place to live.

So a gig to talk about. The last one wasnt anything to write home about, (so i didnt) but I guess this one was a little more special. The line up was: TechDiff, Ribtickler + D A Tist, King pin, FFF, DJ Floorclearer, Society Suckers, Dr Bastardo and Lady Scraper.
We arrived at about 7:30 and met Society Suckers and Dr Bastardo, we all sat around and ate lasagne, veeery breakcore! SS is cool, very odd perhaps but defiantely a nice guy (I think he has a thing for Lucy!) Dr B is also a legend, hes from UK and seemed quite shy but also a good bloke.
The venue was cool enough, lots of space and the PA was pretty large. I was on first at about 23:00.

Man, id been building this gig up in my head a lot, getting excited and nervous about playing along side some pretty well known names. silly dave.... silly silly dave.

Turns out Id been building myself up for a massive disapointment. Id been shifted down the bill untill I was first to play, and Id kinda forgotten that the first to play, no matter how good the line up, still means an EMPTY venue. I think when Id finished my EPIC 30 minute set, there was approx 20 people just arrived. =/ Ah well...... SS came an had a little dance at the end, made it a bit better, a little easier to swallow too.

I was pretty down by the end of the night so got a lift home, got a quick chat with FFF who seemed a really cool guy. Anyways definately educational.

So the next day we had a look round Wageningen, its quite a small place and most things were closed coz it was Sunday, but I guess its pretty or however you wanna discribe it.

Today we've just chilled and got ready for the long journey ahead of us. We leave in 30 minutes (21:30) and we'll arrive in St Petersburg at 15:00. Long trip!!!

Wish us luck and Ill update this blog from there..

Love an kisses!!!

Ill put some pics up when we arrive in Russia.

3 comments:

Craig Furniss said...

Finally a goddam update!

Glad to hear you are safely through gig numbr 2 - and not a broken PA in sight (yet). SHame about the Wrong guys - but at least you're on the same bill, and you're not a dickhead. Can't be bad.

Anyways - keep on truckin' or trainin', whatever it is your doing right now. Hope Russia is good.

PICS!PICS!PICS!

Laters dude

Unknown said...

What craig said.

Missin' you Dahve!

Anonymous said...

Good to know you're still alive and well :)
I'm sorry the gig didn't work out as you have planned... but look on the bright side - you have lots of weird miniature cow photos to remind you about the fun time in Holland :)
Brace yourself for "sunny" north/west Russian autumn and remember the bridges in St Petersburg go up every the night, so don't get stuck on the wrong bank of the city... :0)

Love xxx Alia